Only in San Anto

I happened to be downtown today near our Cathedral on a beautiful Saturday night.  The city recently renovated the main plaza downtown so I was enjoying the new addition to our downtown when I heard music coming from a small tent near the edge of the plaza.  I immediately heard an accordion so I walked towards the tent.  It was kind of dark so I couldn’t tell who the band was, they were pretty good.  As I got closer to the tent (it was surrounded by Christmas lights) I saw a group of people lounging around enjoying the music- about 20-25 people in all.  It was a very homey atmosphere.  As I got up to the tent (there was no stage it was set on the ground) I realized that it was Los Tex-Maniacs with Max Baca, David Farias, Speedy V and Chente Barrera on drums!  Only in San Antonio could you find this band playing for free and only about 25 people checking them out.  I went up to the tent to say hi to guys, then I left.  Just another night in San Antonio.

Leave a Reply

